I’m Finally Doing It

What if you could give up your day job to follow your dream?

Perhaps you’ve always wanted to do something creative, but life with its responsibilities has got in the way. You have a steady job, a salary and a pension to look forward to, and you’d be mad to give that up – wouldn’t you?

stressed-woman

But full-time work crowds everything else out of your life. You have no time for creativity or even for family or friends. Half the time, you can’t even think straight.

Perhaps you try to do what you really care about in your spare time. But it’s not enough. Dreams are hard to achieve; they require undivided attention. The only way you can have the life you want is to give up the day job, and with it your salary, security, day-to-day companionship and the job title that defines you. All to pursue a dream that most people won’t understand.

That’s what I’m about to do.

In early February I will be giving up being Managing Editor of a very successful publishing company to try to become a writer.

How can I do this with a mortgage, bills to pay and one of my two sons still at university? In case you’re wondering, I don’t have a fabulously high earning spouse and we haven’t won the lottery.

I believe that many of us could break out of our shackles and pursue our real goals if we could just learn to live on less.

A few years ago, my husband, Jon, stepped down from being Deputy Head of his primary school when stress made him ill. While he recovered and went back to being a class teacher, I threw myself into trying out money saving tips, and discovered a passion for it.

We were earning much less than before, but we were a hundred percent happier.

What if economising isn’t a chore that enchains you? What if it’s the key to the life you want?

I am about to discover if this is true. I might fall flat on my face and end up searching for another salary, in a difficult job market, at the age of 51. But I might end up doing what I’ve wanted to do since I was 5 – what I’ve always felt I was put on this earth to do. I might become a published writer.

Come with me for the journey as I put the ‘Out of Office’ sign up forever. You’ll learn some great money saving tips. You might even be inspired to follow a dream of your own.

9 thoughts on “I’m Finally Doing It

  1. Yay! Huge congratulations Sophie! That’s incredibly exciting news. Youre going to fantastic at it. I’ve had a small glimpse of this, giving up the security and comforts of everything and everyone I know and love to follow Rob into the Middle East. It’s very hard some days, but the sense of achievement has outweighed the difficulties and challenges along the way. I often feel like that small kid on a bike yelling over my shoulder “look ma, no hands!” It’s a brilliant ride and I look forward to walking your journey with you. Praying God blesses your time enormously xx

    Like

  2. Wow big step Sophie but you’ve done the hardest part leaving your job. I’m sure you’ll be a big success and in look forward to reading about economising tips since been made redundant from my well paid job to now retrain in teaching with two small boys it’s a juggle but I feel health and happiness more important than salaries and bonuses. Good luck Vic x

    Like

    1. Thank you very much for the encouragement, Vic, which means a lot. And I know a lot of people learn in a less voluntary way (through redundancy like you!) that salaries aren’t everything. The tips will be coming soon. And good luck with the teaching and the little boys – I hope it works out really well for you.

      Like

  3. This is a treat to read, Sophie. I wish you well. I gave up my day job and two thirds of our income when I had breast cancer back in 1997. We have never got anywhere near to earning what we used to earn back then but I believe we have really lived our lives and enjoyed our work, pursued a few dreams and made time for each other. Funnily enough, we have never been short of anything we need – far from it. I’ll be reading your posts with curiosity. Good luck with everything!

    Like

  4. Thank you Dawn, for the kind words and for sharing a bit of your story. I am fascinated to hear how other people have come to the realisation that solid full-time jobs can be a gilded cage – even those who didn’t leave voluntarily in the first place! Thanks again.

    Like

  5. Go for it Sophie! I am backing you all the way. And as for the whole money saving ideas, we need to keep sharing. There are so many out there and I am determined to have a lot fun carrying them out. I pray that you will have a lot of fun too!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

